Second Annual Student Retreat of the SQuInT Network

 

St. John's College, Santa Fe, New Mexico

June 25, 2001 ­ June 29, 2001

Sponsors:


 

Program for the SQuInT Retreat 2001

Four 75-minute sessions per day:

8:45-10:00; 10.30-11:45; 2:00-3:15 and 3:45-5:00.

 

Monday 25 June 2001

0. 8:30 AM Welcoming remarks and Information

1. Ivan Deutsch (What is QuInT?)

2. Ike Chuang (Quantum Algorithms)

3. Carl Caves (Entanglement in Continuous Systems)

4. David Kielpinski (Ion Trap quantum computing)

 

Tuesday 26

1. Bruce Kane (Solid State Devices for Quantum Measurement)

2. David Bacon (Universality in Quantum Information)

3. Ike Chuang (Quantum Algorithms)

4. Lorenza Viola (Noiseless Subsystems)

 

Wednesday 27

1. Daniel James (Two-photon down conversion)

2. Salman Habib (Quantum-Classical Transition I)

Afternoon free for Raft Trip

 

Thursday 28

1. Hideo Mabuchi (Indirect quantum measurements)

2. free for discussions

3. Ivan Deutsch (Optical Lattices - A paradigm for quantum information processing)

4. Daniel James (Characterization of Quantum States): Link above

Barbeque

 

Friday 29

1. Bruce Kane (Solid State Devices for Quantum Measurement): Link above

2. Salman Habib (Quantum-Classical Transition II)

3. Hideo Mabuchi (Quantum parameter estimation)

 


 

Organizing Committee

Senoir Members: Daniel James, Los Alamos National Laboratories, Ivan Deutsch, University of New Mexico

Dave Kielpinski (Chair Student Committee), National Institute of Standards and Technology

Dave Bacon, University of California, Berkeley

Kit-Iu Cheong, University of Arizona

Shohini Ghose, University of New Mexico

 

Participants

"Senior people"

1. Ike Chuang (MIT) ike@alum.mit.edu

2. Carl Caves (UNM) caves@tangelo.phys.unm.edu

3. Ivan Deutsch (UNM) ideutsch@tangelo.phys.unm.edu

4. Salman Habib (Los Alamos) habib@shiva.lanl.gov

5. Daniel James (Los Alamos) dfvj@t4.lanl.gov

6. Hideo Mabuchi (Caltech) hmabuchi@its.caltech.edu

7. Bruce Kane (Maryland) kane@lps.umd.edu

8. Lorenza Viola (MIT) lviola@compute.c3.lanl.gov

9. Paul Alsing (UNM) alsing@ahpcc.unm.edu

 

Post-docs

1. Prabhakar Bandaru (Yablonovitch, UCLA) bpr@ee.ucla.edu

2. Mark S. Byrd (Lidar, Toronto) mbyrd@chem.utoronto.ca

3. Hideo Kosaka (Yablonovitch, UCLA) hideok@ee.ucla.edu

4. Hans Robinson (Yablonovitch, UCLA) hansr@ee.ucla.edu

5. John P. Grondalski (James, LANL) jcat@t4.lanl.gov

 

Grad students

1. David Bacon (Whaley, Berkeley) dabacon@holmium.cchem.berkeley.edu

2. Shohini Ghose (Deutsch, UNM) sghose1@unm.edu

3. Kit-Iu Cheong (Jessen, Arizona) kitiu@u.arizona.edu

4. David Kielpinski (Wineland, NIST) David.Kielpinski@colorado.edu

5. Arti Agrawal (Pines, UC Berkeley) artiagrawal@hotmail.com

6. Charlene Ahn (Preskill, Caltech) charlene@its.caltech.edu

7. Andrew J. Berglund (Mabuchi, CalTech) berglund@its.caltech.edu

8. Joe Britton (Wineland, NIST) Joe.Britton@colorado.edu

9. Ken Brown (Whaley, UC Berkeley) kenbrown@socrates.berkeley.edu

10. Kenton R Brown (Kane, Maryland) krbrown@physics.umd.edu

11. Souma Chaudhury (Jessen, Arizona) Souma@optics.arizona.edu

12. Sonja Daffer (McIver/Wodkiewicz, UNM) sonja@as.unm.edu

13. Bryan Eastin (Caves, UNM) beastin@its.caltech.edu

14. David Etlinger (James, LANL/Eberly. Rochester) de001i@mail.rochester.edu

15. Jim Farmin (Deutsch, UNM) (25-27 June) James.Farmin@Kirtland.af.mil

16. Andrew Funk (Raymer, Oregon) afunk@darkwing.uoregon.edu

17. Gregory Hather (Whaley, UC Berkeley) ghather@calpoly.edu

18. Asa S. Hopkins (Habib, LANL) ahopkins@haverford.edu

19. Khang Le (Yablonovitch, UCLA) khang@ee.ucla.edu

20. Kiran Manne (Caves, UNM) manne@unm.edu

21. Tim McGarvey (Mabuchi, CalTech) mcgarvey@caltech.edu

22. Simon Myrgren (Whaley, UC Berekeley) myrgren@holmium.cchem.berkeley.edu

23. Harold Ollivier (Zurek, LANL) ollivier@t6-serv.lanl.gov

24. Roman Ostroumov (Wang, UCLA) roman@ee.ucla.edu

25. Worawarong Rakreungdet ("Mr. O") (Jessen, UA) o2son@yahoo.com

26. Deepak Sethu Rao (Yablonovitch, UCLA) deepak@ampere.ee.ucla.edu

27. Pranaw Rungta (Caves, UNM) pranaw@unm.edu

28. Lorraine Sadler (Stamper-Kurn, UC Berekeley) lowrain@socrates.berkeley.edu

29. Joshua Schrier (Whaley, Berkeley) schrier@holmium.cchem.berkeley.edu

30. Andrew Silberfarb (Deutsch, UNM) drew@ll.mit.edu

31. Andrew J. Skinner (Kane, Maryland) skinner@wam.umd.edu

32. Greg Smith (Jessen, UA) gasmith@u.arizona.edu

33. Lin Song (Dowling, JPL) songl@rpi.edu

34. Andrew Stimpson (Dowling, JPL) Andrew.Stimpson@jpl.nasa.gov

35. Rene Stock (Deutsch, UNM) restock@unm.edu

36. John Stockton (Mabuchi, Caltech) jks@pop-server.its.caltech.edu

37. Matt Stowe(Dowling, JPL) stowem2@rpi.edu

38. Dan Sullivan (Kane, Maryland) dfs@lps.umd.edu

39. Tracy Tessier (Deutsch, UNM) tessiert@gluino.phys.unm.edu